Kim & Kim Vol. 1

 

32603783

Title: Kim & Kim Vol. 1
Published: December 28th 2016 by Black Mask Studios
Where’d I Get It: Purchase
Rating: 4 stars

Kim & Kim are 20something besties making a name for themselves in the wild world of interdimensional cowboy law enforcement. A day-glo action adventure that’s bursting with energy and enthusiasm, Kim & Kim puts queer women and trans women front and center in an adventure that’s bright, happy, punk rock, sci fi & queer as all get-out.

 

Oh, gosh, graphic novels. I love them, but I also hate them, because they finish too quickly. This was the case with Kim & Kim. I absolutely adored the characters, but the omnibus wrapped up way too quickly. I felt like I was only scraping the surface of how awesome this series could be.

As per my previous post, I knew that I would find something else that makes me read something immediately. That something happens to be quirky as fuck bounty hunters. I love them. I love Cowboy Bebop something fierce. Samus Aran is my homegirl. I literally couldn’t not read this.

The art is cute and bright. The character designs are great (I mean, can I please cosplay them?). The characters themselves are just quirky enough to have some fun and great stories with. One of the Kims is trans, with a father that hasn’t accepted the fact. There’s more complication than that, as the father runs his own bounty hunting organization and is perpetually trying to bring Kim back into his fold. The other Kim is from a long line if probate necromancers. Her family has its own little quirks, and her aunt is one kickass lady.

The Kim’s relationship appears to be that of platonic life partners, but I’d probably ship them if it ever came down to that. They’re just too great together. I love them both to pieces.

The storyline itself generally comes down to that the Kims try to get a bounty, and then that bounty gets messed up somehow. It’s very Cowboy Bebop in its formula. I don’t mind it. Hell, it keeps everyone on their toes.

If I was the comic book pulling type, this would certainly be a title I’d do that with. As it stands, I have no idea when this comic comes out or when more will be forthcoming, and I has the sads about it. Alas, this book was too short, and I need more Kims in my immediate future. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

