Top 10 Tuesday (3)

toptentuesday

Okay, so I took a bit of a break from blogging in general. It’s been pretty stressful in the household recently. My husband is essentially working two eight-hour jobs, in order to get my friend’s startup going. It’s intense. I’m totally in charge of the house, and making sure he doesn’t collapse in a heap of stress, all which stresses me out. Anyway, things are looking up on that end. Everything as far as pitches and moving forward with the startup is going great so far. So, fingers crossed.

Anyway, this weeks theme for Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book.

Crap. I don’t think I’ve actually thought this one through. Well, let’s try it.

10) I don’t want to just say, ZOMBIES because it’s so much more to it than that. I’m not going to read just any zombie novel that comes across my line of sight. There’s some really flat tropes that make me shy away from the genre just as quickly as piquing my interest. That being said, I absolutely love a good zombie book. Give me a Mira Grant or an M.R. Carey any day. Funny that both are published by the same publisher. Could it be a sign? Perhaps.

9) For awhile, I was reading anything Felicia Day rated above four stars. I keep considering going back to that. I hadn’t had a misstep there at all. She seems to jive on the same wavelength as me.

8) Whatever Jessie tells me to. The problem with this is that the list Jessie has mentioned to me, is long and I keep straying from it. Eventually, I’ll get through them all. Eventually.

7) Some new and weird fantasy premise. I super love anything that I haven’t seen before. That book about people riding hippos on the Mississippi River, someone get that to me STAT before I literally explode from anticipation. I’m not sure exactly what the IT factor is, but usually, the IT factor is way out there.

6) Okay, for those of you that know me, even a little, you know that I love absolutely TERRIBLE premises as much as I love the promising ones. I literally bought an out of print romance novel about a guy who turns into a unicorn. I’m not at all sorry about that. I bet it’s going to be a glorious, camp-filled romp and I’m so ready for it. I do the same thing with movies. Sometimes I just want to read something ridiculous.

5) If I super liked the first book. There are some series that I immediately snag the next one of (or did when they were being released). There are a few authors that I need to finish their bibliography because I feel guilty snatching the newest one up (Seanan McGuire is one of these, so is Ms. Schwab). These authors are few and far between. I can’t wait to find more of them.

4) Higlanders. Help me. I have a problem.

3) Awards, I will usually grab a book here or there if it won an award. I will generally get through two or three before getting really stressed about the list and dropping the idea entirely. Repeat next year.

2) It won’t get off my feed- Twitter or Goodreads. There’s only so much I can see about a book before curiosity gets the better of me and I break down and read it. It doesn’t matter why it’s being chattered about. This could be due to many things, usually it’s drama, so I have to see what the fuss is about, or it’s being super squee’d about, in which case I have to see what the fuss is about.

1) My husband told me to read it. He has done this once in our whole marriage. That book was Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.  It took me six months to read, but I did it and I enjoyed it immensely.

I’m sure I’ll probably think of other reasons when I’m trying to go to sleep tonight, but so far, this seems like a comprehensive list. What’s your number one spot?

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday (3)

  1. Pingback: Kim & Kim Vol. 1 | Idle Pursuits

Leave a Reply

