Media Consumption (1)

I love books, I really do, but I really do love consuming other media. This is my feature for little blurbs of things I’ve finished over the past week.

michaelboltonsbigsexyvalentinesdayspecial_2

Michael Bolton’s Big Sexy Valentine’s Day Special 

My husband really loves Comedy Bang Bang, and like, overall, I enjoy it, but I don’t go out of my way to watch it. It’s something to watch if it’s on. So, this special was something he had to turn on immediately.

It was like a big, long, episode of Comedy Bang Bang, with more random songs (though the Rocky Horror-esque episode was pretty much entirely songs). Anyway, I didn’t hate it, but it was most assuredly something dumb to fill the silence with.

someone-knows-something-invu-ridgen-030216__192362

Someone Knows Something Season 1

It’s no surprise that I listened to this. If you know anything about me, true crime is one of my favorite things. I’m what is referred to as a Murderino. This season is all about the disappearance of a five-year-old boy in the seventies while the rest of the family was fishing. I listened to the whole thing over the next handful of hours. Turns out when you have something on 2.2x speed, podcasts go really fast. I’ve been slowly bumping my podcast listening speed to closer to 2.8, but I find with some of these true crime podcasts that the interviews/phone calls made get really garbled if you speed it up too fast.

In the vein of the first season of Serial, these short, in-depth looks into someone’s life, the moments that change everything and the events leading up to them don’t ever really have any foregone conclusions. This one, very much so, just sounds like the little boy wandered away and quiet drowned in one of the other lakes nearby. It was a sad listen, but compelling all the same.

05-6

Erased (Boku Dake ga Inai Machi)

Oh, gosh, all right. This was recommended to me out of nowhere. I watched it in a week, eight episodes the first day, the other four after a little break. The protagonist is a twenty-nine-year-old man living in 2006 (the theme song is even by Asian Kung Fu Generation, as though this is 2006). His life is unfulfilling. He’s a washed up manga artist who lives alone and works as a pizza delivery guy. His one interesting quirk is that he jumps backwards in time every so often. When he does that, he changes the future, stopping terrible events from happening.

Except that his last jump/rescue landed in the hospital and now his mom is in his one bedroom apartment taking care of him. When the jump happens again, it causes a cascade of events that cause his mother to be murdered, and Satoru to jump backwards in time to 1988, just in time to remember a bunch of events he had suppressed, involving three abduction/murders in his hometown of kids his age.

As a twelve-year-old, he has to navigate his way through life and friendships, attempting to thwart the killer and deny him his prey. Once I figured out who the killer was (I mean, I suspected early on), that was when I stopped watching for a few days. Still, this anime was a wild ride from start to finish, and had a very satisfying ending.

 

One thought on “Media Consumption (1)

Leave a Reply

